Lessons from Life / The Big Apple

Fighting the Urge to Fight

Most of you know that New York City is the place I call home for the summer. Fewer of you know that this was not where I wanted to be nor was I at all excited about the idea of spending the summer in the busy streets of the city that never sleeps. I like my sleep way too much. Even fewer of you know that since I have been here, which is only a little over three days, I have fallen in love with the place. The bright lights, the hustle, the convenience of running to the produce stand just around the block, the parks, the river, the museums, and I’m sure there is even more that I haven’t discovered yet. It’s an experience like none other and I’m so blessed and fortunate to have the opportunity to spend the next 8 weeks serving here. Everyone here has a story and I’m learning a lot through them. 

The other day I was reading in 2 Chronicles about Jehoshaphat. He was facing war, unknown conflict, and he was afraid. The odds were stacked against him and his people. The Ammonite army was much larger than Jehoshaphat’s army. The result of a battle would surely be disastrous. But even with the overwhelming fear of defeat, Jehoshaphat looked to the Lord. 
“Jehoshaphat was afraid, so he decided to ask the Lord what to do. He announced that everyone in Judah should fast during this special time of prayer to God. The people of Judah came together to ask the Lord for help; they came form every town in Judah.” 2 Chronicles 20:3-4

I stopped reading this passage shortly after this verse because I was blown away. His response to fear and my response to fear were two completely different things. In his uncertainty, he began to plead to the Lord for guidance and help. In my uncertainty, I panicked and became unyielding. I spent the several months prior to this week in doubt of where I was supposed to be. I knew better, I wasn’t supposed to give up my entire summer in a city that I had no desire to go to. Instead of allowing the Lord to prepare my heart for the lessons I would learn and the people I was going to encounter, I kept pushing harder and harder against the fact that I was supposed to be here. A couple of days later, I finished the passage and was left with a good bit to chew on. 

After Jehoshaphat and his people have spent time in prayer and fasting seeking the Lord and His protection, the Lord speaks to them. He says, “Don’t be afraid or discouraged because of this large army. The battle is not your battle, it is God’s.” vs 15. This is a reoccurring theme in scripture. The Lord continually tells us not to worry, not to fear, for He is always with us and is fighting the battles for us. The imagery of that in the rest of this story has such an impact. You see, the army did not fight. They didn’t even come close to entering combat. As they started walking towards the Ammonite army, they began to worship and thank the Lord. They praised Him for His unfailing love. The Lord then sent out ambushes against the army and killed every last soldier before Jehoshaphat even arrived. 

“When the men from Judah came to the place where they could see the desert, they looked at the enemy’s large army. But they only saw dead bodies lying on the ground; no one had escaped.” vs 24

The Lord told them not to fear because the battle was not theirs, it was His. They had no idea that He meant to defeat the entire army before they were even within sight of each other. Yet that is exactly what He did. To me this story is a depiction of the life that we are supposed to live as believers. We are not to fear even when we are faced with great uncertainty because we may not see it, but the Lord is already fighting the battle in whatever form that takes. Our purpose is not to worry about fighting the battle. We are just to worship the Lord, each day and every day for every day we face a new obstacle. Every day we must overcome sin. But more importantly, we are supposed to approach every day with worshipping and thanksgiving. Our lives are to be a constant act of worship for the battles the Lord is fighting and for the battles He has not even fought yet. Because let’s face it, we know He is going to win. 
Our job is not to fight. It’s not to worry. It’s not to fear. Our purpose is not to do great things or to exert great strength in trials. Our purpose is to live a life of worship to God. To tell others the story of redemption through the praises for our own redemption. We are to approach each day with an attitude of worship and let the Lord fight the battles, because He is much better at it. 
“Then he chose men to be singers to the Lord, to praise Him because He is holy and wonderful. As they marched in front of the army, they said, ‘Thank the Lord, because His love continues forever.’ As they began to sing and praise God, the Lord sent ambushes for the people of Ammon, Moab, and Edom who had come to attack Judah. And they were defeated.” vs 21-22

Leave a comment